Symposium on Education

Symposium: Education

Date: 14 October 2018

Time: 13:50-18:10

Hall: TBC

Education plays a crucial role in supporting the process of sustainable development of a country. Nepal has made significant progress in the education sector over the last five decades. However, quality of education at all levels is low and in particular, the higher education sector lacks capacities in research, knowledge production and innovations. This session will focus on improvement in educational governance in federalism, and increased thrust on vocational education, research, innovation and entrepreneurship through local and global partnership.

Contact Information for symposia:
Coordinators: Dr Pramod Dhakal, NRNA Academy, Nepal; Dr Tejendra Pherali, University College London, UK

Program Schedule

Symposium 3: Education
14 October 2018, 13:50-18:10, Malshree Hall
Session A: Working Towards Quality Education for All, Chair: Prof Mana Prasad Wagley
Speaker/PanelistTopicInstituteEmail
InvitedKamal Lamichhane, DrInclusion and human capital investment for sustainable development: evidence from some empirical studies on disabilityThe University of Tsukuba, Ibakari, Japankamal@criced.tsukuba.ac.jp
InvitedHari Lamsal, DrFederalism and education policy in Nepal: challenges, dilemmas and opportunitiesJoint Secretary, Ministry of Education, Government of Nepalhlamsal@gmail.com
InvitedSwastika Shrestha and Shisir KhanalRethinking teacher development in NepalTeach for Nepal, Nepalshisir@teachfornepal.org
ContributedTejendra Pherali, Dr The role of education in peacebuilding and social transformationUCL Institute of Education, University College London, UK
Rapid FireLaba Prasad TripatheeConcept of community based technical education and vocational training in developing basic level work force  in Nepal Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Nepallaba.tripathee@gmail.com
Rapid FireSushma Basnet, MrsDomestic vs foreign degree: An overview of Nepalese student's motivations and experiences studying at UK educational institutionsBrunel University London, UKsushma.basnet@brunel.ac.uk
Rapid FireAmrita SharmaWhat’s next? Perceptions of career among graduates in NepalSchool of Education, Kathmandu University, Nepalamritasharma012@gmail.com
Q&A
SummaryMana Prasad Wagley, Prof Kathmandu University, Nepalprofmana@gmail.com
Tea break
Session B: Reforming Higher Education, Chair: Dr Gangalal Tuladhar
Speaker/PanelistTopicInstitute
ContributedPramod Dhakal, DrGovernance of innovationNRNA Academy, Nepalpdhakal@gmail.com
Invited Shabnam Koirala-Azad, Prof DrHigher education system and entrepreneurial ecosystem of California: The lessons for reorganizing higher education in NepalUniversity of San Francisco, USAskoirala@usfca.edu
ContributedSriram Bhagut Mathe, Prof DrEstablishment of world class universities in Nepal: Challenges and opportunitiesNepal Education Foundation-Consortium of Colleges, Nepalsbmathe@gmail.com
ContributedDrona Rasali, DrReducing inequity in higher education for social justice in Nepal: How can diaspora Help?Provincial Health Services Authority, BC, Canadadrona.rasali2@gmail.com
Panel Discussion and Q&AChaitanya Mishra, Prof DrReforming higher education in NepalTribhuvan University, Nepalmishrachaitanya@gmail.com
Pratyoush Onta, DrMartin Chautari, Nepalsinhas@mos.com.np
SummaryGangalal Tuladhar, DrFormer Minister of Education, Chair of High Level National Commission on Education, Nepalgangalaltuladhar@gmail.com
PosterRhymes ShaktiAn exploration of students’ and teachers’ experiences on new grading system secondary education examinationsLiverpool John Moores University, UKR.Shakti@2017.ljmu.ac.uk