The Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA), an organization of millions of Nepalese residing outside Nepal, is an active partner of the Government of Nepal (GoN) and of Nepali people in advancing the country’s aspirations for socio-economic development. Since its inception in 2003, NRNA has attempted to bring together diaspora resources to assist in Nepal’s development efforts. In pursuit of this, it has organized numerous conferences at international and national level to explore areas of collaboration with the GoN. These conferences deliberated on diverse topics- financial investment, tourism and trade, constitution and democracy, residency and citizenship- and submitted related reports to the GoN.


With the anticipated stability of the new government and its focus on economic development, NRNA believes there is an urgency to systematize the previous knowledge sharing efforts and mobilize the diaspora’s knowledge pool to complement the GoN’s development efforts. The mobilization will augment the country’s knowledge base and help close the knowledge gap that the GoN and Nepal’s private sectors consider impediments to their development objectives. It will also lead to knowledge transfer, investment, and long term capacity building of the country.


In this context, NRNA is organizing the First Global Knowledge Convention, in partnership with the Government of Nepal (GoN), to bring together NRNs with expertise in various fields of development and confer with similar experts in Nepal. The convention will be held on 12-14 October 2018 in Kathmandu, Nepal, in conjunction with the 16th NRN Day Celebrations. Nepal’s Education and research institutes, private sectors and various stakeholders are the Convention supporters. The Rt. Honorable Prime Minister of Nepal Mr KP Sharma Oli is scheduled to inaugurate the Convention on 12 October.


The NRNA believes that there will be an on-going need to update new knowledge and the growing expertise in the diaspora. It is therefore going to hold such convention in every two years.


Plenary Sessions




Event Partner



Platinum Partner



Silver Partner







Internet Partner




Tentative Programme

Inauguration and welcome dinner (5:00 pm)


The Rt. Honorable Prime Minister of Nepal Mr KP Sharma Oli is scheduled to inaugurate the convention on 12 October evening.

Review and conclusion (Close session, invitees only)


Important Deadlines

The Abstract of papers to be presented to the conference shall be submitted to the Conference Organizers in advance. Following are the submission deadlines.
Abstract submission open: 1st August 2018
Abstract submission deadline: 31 August 2018
Notification of acceptance of abstract: 15 September 2018
Registration: 30 September 2018

Call for Abstracts

The convention organizing committee invites all interested participants and/or contributors to register and submit their abstracts via the convention website (
Please submit your contributions to a specific symposium session listed above. These contributions will be considered for contributed talks or rapid-fire presentations in the symposium sessions, or poster presentations.
The registration fees will be waved for invited speakers and discounted by 50% for student presenters.


Venue And Accommodation : Soaltee Crowne Plaza,Kalimati Kathmandu

Registration Fees:
Diaspora/foreign participants: NRs 10,000
Local participants: NRs 6,000.00
Student paper presenters: NRs 4,000.00
(The registration fees will be waved for invited speakers and discounted by 50%
for student presenters. All participants must register online and pay the registration
fees on cash at the venue.)


Organising Committees


 Dr Hem Raj Sharma, the University of Liverpool, UK (Programme)
 Mr. Kumar Panta, Non-Resident Nepali Association, Germany (Management)

Member Secretary: Dr Hari Dahal, American Physical society, USA

Nepal Government’s Liaison Officer:Dr Damaru B Paudel, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kathmandu, Nepal

Scientific Advisory Board

 Dr Ambika Adhikari, Arizona State University, USA
 Prof Bhagawan Koirala, Institute of Medicine, Tribhuvan University, Nepal
 Prof David Gellner, University of Oxford, UK
 Dr Dinesh Bhuju, Nepal Academy of Science and Technology, Nepal
 Dr Drona Rasali, Provincial Health Services Authority, Canada
 Er Ganesh Shah, Nepal Science Olympiad, Nepal
Dr Kayo Devi Yami, Former Chief of NAST Science Faculty, Nepal

Prof Kedar Bhakta Mathema, Former VC, Tribhuvan University, Nepal
 Mr Mahabir Pun, National Innovation Centre, Nepal
 Prof Michael Hutt, University of London, UK
 Mr Naresh Koirala, Nepal Library Foundation, Canada
 Dr Pramod Dhakal, NRNA Academy, Nepal
 Dr Raju Adhikari, RMIT University, Australia
 Dr Shobhakar Dhakal, Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
Dr Yub Raj Pokharel, South Asian University, New Delhi, India

Programme Committee (Symposium Coordinators)

Agriculture and Food Security
 Dr Drona Rasali, Provincial Health Services Authority, Canada
 Dr Keshav Adhikari, Institute of Agriculture and Animal Sciences, TU, Nepal

Disaster Risk Reduction
 Mr Ajaya Dixit, Institute for Social and Environmental Transition, Nepal
Dr Netra Prakash Bhandary, Ehime University, Japan

 Dr Pramod Dhakal, NRNA Academy, Nepal
 Dr Tejendra Pherali, University College London, UK

Environment Pollution
Dr Maheswar Rupakheti, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Germany
Dr Durga Poudel, University of Lousiana at Lafayette, USA

Financial Policy and Investment

Mr Keshab KC, Nepal Rastra Bank, Nepal
Mr Ranjeet Mahato, Neapolis University Paphos, Cyprus

Health Education and Policy
 Dr Archana Amatya, Global Health Department, Institute of Medicine, Nepal`
 Dr Binod Shah, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, USA

Hydropower, Transportation and Utilities
Dr Arun Timalsina, Institute of Engineering, TU, Nepal
 Mr Naresh Koirala, Nepal Library Foundation, Canada

New Frontier in Physical Sciences and  Prosperity
 Dr Hari Dahal, American Physical Society, USA
 Prof Narayan Adhikari, Central Department of Physics, TU, Nepal

Social Security

Mr Prakash Dahal, Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security, Nepal
Mr Kiran (Ron) Sitoula, Department of the Treasury, USA

Sustainable Energy 
 Dr Ambika Adhikari, Arizona State University, USA
 Dr Subodh Sharma, Kathmandu University, Nepal

Technology Transfer and Innovation
 Dr Raju Adhikari, RMIT University, Australia
 Dr Rameswor Adhikari, RECAST, TU, Nepal

Management Committee

Mr Kumar Panta, Vice President, NRNA
Dr Badri KC, General Secretary, NRNA
Mr Ram P Thapa, Patron, NRNA
Dr Hemanta Dabadi, CEO, NRNA Secretariat
Mr Shreeram Ghimire, Secretariat liaison


Regional Coordinators:

Americas: Dr Rudra Aryal, Franklin Pierce University, USA
Asia Pacific: Dr Devi Basnet, Medytox Inc., South Korea
Europe: Mr Ram Pratap Thapa, NRNA Patron, Germany and Dr Nabin Aryal, Aarhus University, Denmark